Curated by Dr.Sarah A. Trotty

Celebrating African Americans in Visual Arts

This year the University Museum at Texas Southern is proud to present the annual Citywide Exhibition and celebrates a new partnership with the Museum of Fine Arts Houston as the permanent host. The exhibition features a diverse range of original visual works including sculpture and mixed media works by artists of the African Diaspora in the greater Houston area. The works submitted in the 2015 exhibition will be judged by Geri Hooks of Hooks-Epstein Galleries, Deon Robinson and a third special guest judge. There are cash prizes for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place as well as a Curator's Choice prize.

The exhibition is presented in collaboration with the Museum's patron group Five-A, and features over 100 works. It offers artists the opportunity to show their work to a broader public, collectors and art patrons, and boasts an established attendance of over 800 guests.

The 18th Citywide African American Artists Exhibition will be on view June 19-July 26, 2015, at the University Museum at Texas Southern University.

Opening and Award Celebration takes place Friday June 19 from 7pm - 9pm. 

About Five-A  
Five-A, the African American Art Advisory Association at the MFAH, was established in 1993 to enhance the Museum's collections of African American and African art. At the end of each year, Five-A uses its membership dues and other fundraising proceeds to purchase major works for the Museum. In addition to sponsoring acclaimed artists, Five-A also has championed artists that history has overlooked. The support and guidance of Five-A has been instrumental in shepherding up-and-coming artists into the collection. Since its founding, Five-A has brought 44 objects into the Museum's collection.

Featured Artists


Alton Cooper
Charisse Weston
Chrishonda Crawford
Dannye Jones
Eddie Filer
Farrah Lynch
Felipe Lopez
Freckles Antoinette
Jaz Henry
Joan Bristow
Joseph Dixon
Keith J.R. Hollingsworth
Kentra Gilbert
Lanre Buraimoh
Lee Carrier
Linda Simien Kelly
Melissa Aytenfisu
Mitchell Johnson
Nycole Donovan
Romeo Robinson
Sharla Hammond
Shondra O'Bryan
Terry Madison
Tony McMillan
Elizabeth Montgomery Shelton
Jamie Robertson
Dekeita McClenon
Mychelle Taylor
La Neya Jacob
Timothy Burkes
Dominic Clay
Charles L Thomas
Roy V. Thomas
Gwen Gabriel
Robert Myers
Kirk McMillan
Angela Smith
Tony Richard
John Duncan
Najee Art Attacks
Christopher Marion Thomas
Courtney Brown
Shawn Artis
Moses Adams
Zankie Barlow
Nevelyn Williams
Mack Bishop III
Monique Johnson
Karl Hall
Aaron Randolph
Kirk McMillan
Vernon Dale King
Ron Collins
Jesse Sifuentes
Chelsea Kimble
Bonita Tabia Lewis
Layla Jones
Kenneth Pierson
Brittney Anele
JaJah Gray

University Museum at Texas Southern University | 3100 Cleburne Avenue | Houston, TX 77004 © All Rights Reserved

  • umusetxsu
  • Umusetxsu

University Museum at Texas Southern   - 3100 Cleburne Street,  Houston, TX 77004

  © 2013-2021. All Rights Reserved